Press Headquarters
StarPress HQStarLogos & ImagesStarExhibit HallStarScheduleStarD.C. AttractionsStar
Bookmark and Share
AEA News Release
For more information, contact Geoff Hill,
director of communications for the AEA, at 816-347-8400 or
For immediate release:
March 26, 2013

More Than $125,000 in Scholarships Awarded Through the AEA Educational Foundation
Recipients Announced March 26 at the AEA International Convention

LAS VEGAS, NEV., March 26, 2013 -- During the Opening Ceremonies at the 56th annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show on Tuesday, March 26, the Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of 26 individuals who were awarded individual scholarships worth more than $125,000 for the 2013-14 academic year.

This year, the AEA was honored to administer the inaugural Universal Avionics Systems Corp. Scholarship, a $1,500 annual award presented to an aspiring avionics technician or aviation maintenance technician by its sponsor company.

The AEA scholarships and the individuals who were awarded include:

  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Michael Huber, Tyler, Texas.
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Kyle Flanders, Cache, Okla.
  • Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College: Donald Auburger, Springfield, Colo.
  • Aircell Scholarship: Heather Behrent, Appleton, Wis.
  • L-3 Communications Avionics Systems Scholarship: Kavik Fairburn, Garden Valley, Idaho.
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Cody Wright, Ridgeway, Va.
  • Garmin Scholarship: Whitney Brower, Raymond Minn.
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Riley Godkin, Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada.
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Isaac Anderson, Evergreen, Colo.
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Michael Gortowski, Macomb, Mich.
  • Rockwell Collins Scholarship: Nathan Spotts, Wauseon, Ohio.
  • Southeast Aerospace Scholarship: Alexis Rety, East Elmhurst, N.Y.
  • Garmin - Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Paul Xavier, Carbondale, Ill.
  • Bud Glover Memorial Scholarship: Malorie Satfford, Dacula, Ga.
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Dennis Muli, Kalamazoo, Mich.
  • Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Johnson, Lakeland, Fla.
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Jesse Dye, Southgate, Ky.
  • Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship: Codie Keough, Windham, Ohio.
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Rhiannon Pescitani, Charles Town, W.V.
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Yatin Mistry,  Brampton, Ontario, Canada.
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Michael Peer, Oshkosh, Wisc.
  • Flying Magazine's Private Pilot's License (two awards): Sarah Nulik, Bevan-Rabell, Wichita, Kan.; and Ciprian Plesca, Palm Beach Avionics, Loxahatchee, Fla.
  • Sporty's Foundation Recreational Pilot Certificate (two awards): Brian Jay, Spirit Avionics, Whitehall, Ohio; and Matthew Hunt, Corvallis Aero Service, Keizer, Ore.
  • Universal Avionics System Corp. Scholarship: David Hughling, Fort Worth, Texas.

The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from $1,000 to more than $40,000 each. Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2014-15 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2013, online at The deadline for returning applications is Feb. 15, 2014.

For more information about the AEA Educational Foundation, contact Mike Adamson, the Foundation's executive director, at 816-347-8400 or send emails to

– 30 –

The Aircraft Electronics Association represents more than 1,300 repair stations from throughout the world specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of avionics and electronic systems in general aviation aircraft. AEA membership also includes manufacturers of avionics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.

Back to Press Headquarters

AEA Convention Contact
Geoff Hill, Editor Geoff Hill,
Director of Communications
Phone: 816-347-8400

Press HQ Sponsors
Aspen Avionics
Sporty's Pilot Shop

Press HQ Hours
Tuesday, April 3 — 12:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 4 — 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 5 — 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Friday, April 6 — 8:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.


55th Annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show
April 3-6, 2012 • Washington, D.C. • Gaylord National Hotel & Convention Center
816-347-8400 •
Copyright © 2018