Aero-News TV
“The AEA Convention is a great venue where, as a vendor, we get a chance to meet face-to-face with a large number of our dealers, build on our relationships, and also make new ones. In addition, the AEA show gives us a great opportunity to provide vital, in depth technical training to a large number of our installers all at once, which is really cost effective. It’s an important show for us every year.”

Tom Harper, Director, Marketing, Avidyne Corporation

FLYING Magazine

DAC International

AEA Press Headquarters
AEA News Release

For more information, contact Trisha Drape,
director of communications for the AEA, at 816-347-8400 or
For immediate release:
March 23, 2011

More Than $100,000 in Scholarships Awarded Through the AEA Educational Foundation
Scholarship Recipients Announced March 23 during the AEA Opening Session

RENO, Nev., March 23, 2011 — During the Opening Session at the 54th annual AEA Convention & Trade Show on Wednesday, March 23, the Aircraft Electronics Association announced the names of 25 individuals who were awarded more than $100,000 in scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year through the AEA Educational Foundation.

The AEA scholarships and the individuals who were awarded include:

  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Sonia Edwards, Council Bluffs, Iowa.
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Rory Parker, Tulsa, Okla.
  • Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College: Matthew Snyder, Platteville, Colo.
  • L-3 Communications Avionics Systems Scholarship: Kristy Schwiderson, Marquette, Mich.
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship – sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Garth Ott, Pleasant Hills, Penn.
  • Garmin Scholarship: Terrence Heim, Malvern, Penn.
  • Honeywell Scholarship: Alex Wetli, Antwerp, Ohio.
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Brandon Simms, Courtenay, Canada.
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Sheena Stogsdill, Sahuarita, Ariz.
  • Mid-Continent Instruments Scholarship: Davy Son, St. Petersburg, Fla.
  • Rockwell Collins Scholarship: Ian Snow, Metropolis, Ill.
  • Southeast Aerospace Scholarship: David Fowler, O'Fallon, Mo.
  • Garmin - Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Hunter Rayner, Berkeley, Calif.
  • Bud Glover Memorial Scholarship: Ben Stoeckmann, Longview, Texas.
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Russel Richardson, Adams, Neb.
  • Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Josiah Wakefield, Longview, Texas.
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Adrian Ibarra, Wichita, Kan.
  • Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship: Teron Ferguson, Coral Springs, Fla.
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Dylan George, Lee's Summit, Mo.
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Lynn Randolph, Graham, N.C.
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Leslie Quist-Adinyira, Daytona Beach, Fla.
  • Flying Magazine’s Private Pilot’s License (two awards): James Brewer, Capital Avionics, Tallahassee, Fla., and Brad Miller, Gulf Coast Avionics, Land O’ Lakes, Fla.
  • Sporty’s Foundation Recreational Pilot Certificate (two awards): Refugio Olmeda, High Desert Avionics, Lancaster, Calif., and Mike Sweeney, Aerospace Electronics, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from $1,000 to more than $30,000 each. Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2012-13 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2011, online at  The deadline for returning applications is Feb. 15, 2012.

These scholarships will be awarded during the 55th annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show, which takes place from April 3-6, 2012, in Washington, D.C. For more information about the AEA Educational Foundation, contact Mike Adamson at 816-347-8400 or send e-mails to

– 30 –

The Aircraft Electronics Association represents more than 1,300 repair stations from throughout the world specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of avionics and electronic systems in general aviation aircraft. AEA membership also includes manufacturers of avionics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.

Back to Press Headquarters